What is happening with honey collection on n Adelaide

Fellow Beeks, I am new to bee keeping and do not seem to be seeing a great deal of honey storage space n my flow super. Could bee because I am impatient, could bee that the season ( weather) is a bit higgle de piggly, It would never bee because I am a bad beek! Has anybody any advice on Adelaide and whether nectar is flowing?

Hi Jeff

Would appreciate some details about your hive

Was the brood box about 85% full of capped brood before you added the FH?

Aaron,
I would think about 60 - 70% . The bees have moved up into flow once I put some syrup and wax up there ( 2 weeks ago) , they seem to be doing housekeeping and getting cells ready for filling but as yet I can not see any filled
Cheers

1 Like

Hey Jeff, I think your bees went upstairs to collect the food you left for them and then they took it back to the downstairs pantry. Bees are simple creatures like you and I, if there is space in the downstairs pantry why go to the trouble to put all your shopping upstairs. The brood box is not ready.

If you have a new hive they could be using their stores as they collect them. Or, as in my case, they could use most of their stores in spring for their buildup so I tend to get my biggest harvests here in autumn.

Cheers
Rob.

My hive is in Willunga near Adelaide. I put the flow super on Oct 8 since the brood box seemed full, at least all the comb was drawn in every frame and there were lots of bees. Hive is surrounded by hills of salvation jane so plenty of flora.

Maybe its been our lousy weather? Or maybe this is normal? Iā€™m a new beek too so I have nothing to compare it to.

Your brood box needs to be 80% full of BROODā€¦not just drawn with bees clambering about the frames. Then look at putting any sort of honey super on.
The only exception to this is if you are expecting a massive flowā€¦then you can go a little earlier