What to do with this swarm

I have a situation where I set a swarm trap and a swarm has moved onto the box instead of in it. Processing: C35136E9-65E5-4172-9769-F5F4221FBB4C.jpeg…

My question is: is it likely they will move into the box, or should I try and catch them into another box?

If you carefully put a frame of open brood into the trap, it should entice the queen and colony to stay.

The photo didn’t upload, but I assume it’s a hive box you’re using?

Yeah it won’t let me upload a photo for some reason. It’s a 5 frame swarm trap, it has 5 full depth frames plus some extra room underneath the frames. Unfortunately I don’t have a frame of brood as I am just new to all of this.

Did you use swarm commander or lemongrass oil? Sometimes if you use too much, the bees are put off by it.

1 Like

I used swarm commander, but only a spray on the landing board and inside the lid, and that was a week ago.
I got home from work and the big clump is gone, so the swarm has either moved in or gone elsewhere.

3 Likes

This is the swarm… they didn’t move in sadly.

1 Like

That’s a shame but good try. I have had about a 50% hit rate with a swarm trap. Most likely because I put it up too late and they already knew where they were going to go.
If your lucky and see them move off and can find them then good chance you can retrieve them then.
I have found them usually within a few hundred metres especially where there are bird boxes etc on trees.

2 Likes

I think this is a classic example of providing the perfect home that simply wasn’t good enough.

It reminds me of a Bird of Paradise male doing a beautiful dance in an Attenborough documentary, to impress a female. In that case the dance just wasn’t up to scratch, so therefore the female went looking for a male that can do a more impressive dance.

In that case, there’s only one female to impress. In our case there’s hundreds of females to impress.

cheers

4 Likes