When to move bees?

Hi there! I’m looking forward to receiving my very first hive from a bee keeper nearby. She told me she would want to wait for pleasant weather (we’re just below 0°C at the moment) and then show me what to do at the end of winter at the occasion, since I’m a beginner. What came to my mind now is the question, if it wasn’t better to move the bees as long as they are inactive? They have, of course, to change from the vendors box to my box, but the combs will stay in their frames and the bees will stay on the combs. If I do it in lovely warm weather, when the bees would want to fly out, isn’t there the risk of them becoming excited? Isn’t it better to avoid fligth weather as they would sit calmly on their combs? The distance will be far enough for the bees not to fly back to their old location, however.

I’m a member of a local bee keepers association and will ask my question there too, we’ll have a meeting on thursday, but I’d love to hear your opinions :slight_smile:

That’s the nub. They won’t sit calmly and if it is cold, brood will perish and some bees, not knowing where they are after they become airborne will become lost and die.
You can move bees in the cold if you are not taking the frames out.
Your nearby beekeeper is right.Patience.
Novices are keen to look in their hives in the winter for some reason. Don’t believe everything you see on youtube.

3 Likes

Great question!

It is ALWAYS better to do anything that involves opening a hive on a warmer, sunny, windless day. Just imagine lying in your bed, sleeping comfortably on a cold morning, nicely snuggled under your warm duvet. Suddenly, some mean person comes into the room and rips the duvet away… Would you be more unhappy about that on a cold day or a warm day? :wink: