A Beekeeping Sensor Deep Inside a Flow Hive Detected the Death of the Queen

Hi, I have been using Flow Hives for many years and have a company that makes sensors. We recently detected a Queenless hive and saw the normal brood temperature drop. Here is the article where I wrote about it. I hope the information is useful.

3 Likes

Greg, did the Queen have a reaction to smoke or to the temperature drop? Do you believe that you could have prevented the queen from dying?

Thanks for the question.
I am unsure what became of the queen; the temperature drop came because the hive stopped maintaining a constant temperature for the brood. When we opened the hive up for inspection, we found no new eggs or larvae in the hive.
The recent fires in the area may have contributed, we have had heavy smoke in the past and this never caused an issue with a queen.

I used to use an Arnia hive monitor with a brood temperature probe. The temperature would also drop if the queen stopped laying for normal seasonal reasons, or if the brood nest moved a bit within the boxes (I run double deeps). Yes, it can be helpful, but it doesn’t always mean that she is dead.

:wink:

Good points, thanks - I am going to add another sensor so I will have one in each box and in the roof of the hive to give me a good indication of the status

1 Like

Hi Greg,
Thanks for the info. I’ve been beekeeping for 7 yrs, still consider myself as being a newbie. I live in MA and I’ve experienced 2 springs in a row that have had abrupt freezes. Both freezes happened during the 3rd week in March 2021 and 2022. The day temps were mid-60’s and plunged down to 20 degrees after mid-night. I want to see what the temps were in the hive along with the humidity during the winter and early spring. The price of the NEO-1DP temp and humidity sensor with data logging is reasonable. Does one have to subscribe to a data app for the data logging feature?
Best,
AL

Hi AL,