Adding boxes too soon

Okay certainly not the expert, but I just got through watching this morning apparently a podcast from the “fat bee man” that was recorded on YouTube, where halfway through it he said something that reminded me of a conversation/Posting from yesterday about adding boxes

If you add boxes to soon especially Honey supper, the bees need to keep the brood warm. And they build towards the top where heat rises. If you put in a honey super and a queen excluder the heat will escape to the top potentially as he called it creating chilled brood i.e. killing the larvae

This will set back the hive dramatically, this all makes more sense now to me.

Posting this one to see others comment and also to educate/Help others if this is truly the case

1 Like

Absolutely
The colony needs to be strong and able to handle the extra space. Think what happens in the wild. Bees are always at the top, with honey…not empty space… above them
Beginners are always in a hurry. I was a beginner once and I do understand but patience is what is required. Patience, an understanding of colony dynamics …and a second colony :slight_smile:

New beek here. Just got my bees on the 7th of April. 8 frames. After a lot of reading and advice of my mentor I placed my brood box on top of my empty flow brood box. I’m in San Diego and we have had some rain this spring so foraging should be really good. We have been in a prolonged drought. We will see how it works out.

1 Like

Wait one second… are you (@Fireran) and you (@jape), suggesting that the super should be on the bottom?

That sounds… unorthodox… I want to hear more… does anyone else do that? I like the idea.

Pretty sure they meant that they add the second empty brood box under the first full brood box.

Maybe… their logic for why to put the brood box on the bottom, also makes sense with regard to the super. And… @Fireran did write…