Bear damage to hive

Hi there
I am a new to beekeeping. A bear got to one of my hives twice this fall. It took almost everything and killed most of the bees. The queen still lives and I was feeding the hive. I went out this morning and most of the bees are dead on the bottom of the hive!! There is no brood and no honey. The bees are supper slow seem to slowly crawl around. Should I empty the dead bees out of the hive? What can I do to save this hive?

Hi there @Jodoin11 - wow, sorry to hear about that! Must’ve been a sad sight. I’m still new to beekeeping myself, but would guess that your remaining workers were just too few to keep warm where you are in Canada at this time of year, and died from cold/damp.

If there’s still a decent number of bees along with the queen now, I’d condense their living space way down to a nucleus box. Provide them with a sugar patty and insulate the box well.

One other idea - I wonder if the usual method of boosting colony strength by adding a frame or two of brood and nurse bees from another healthy colony, if you could find a beek willing to sell/donate to you, is a good idea at this time of year?

There only seems to be maybe 50-100 bees left and the queen. I was going to try taking brood from my other hive but I’m thinking this hive sadly is doomed

If your queen is in decent shape, I’d think giving them brood and a smaller space to handle plus some food right now could work. You should find out whether this seems feasible from someone local & experienced, before taking away resources from another hive with winter so close…