Bearding after just adding honey super

This is my first year beekeeping, and I just got my two nucs early May. One in particular seemed strong and I added the Flowhice super only two weeks later. About two weeks later, heat picked up (weather about 95 degrees) and one of my hives starting bearding. I’m hoping this is just due to heat and not because they aren’t taking to the super and therefore are running out of room. How can I tell? image|375x500

1 Like

Hi Calyn, welcome! Your hive looks so nice, love the roof color :slight_smile: - as for the bearding, it sure could be the heat, especially with the dark tone of the wood boxes, and the way they are forming two columns has me curious, did you notice if there was a lot of fanning going on? Workers form fanning brigades at the entrance and into the hive to direct the air flow in one side and out the other, and when it’s very hot you can hear this sustained hum as if from a mechanical fan! I’m also wondering when was your last inspection, what did you see (any queen cups or cells, honey storage etc) and can you see many bees working on the Flow frames when you’ve peeked? Did you prep the Fframes with some beeswax before you popped it on? How is the nectar flow in your area right now?

Sorry for the barrage of questions! Just looking for some more context in order to give you a more helpful reply :wink:. Possible solutions to plain ol’ heat would be to provide some shade and to consider using a slatted rack between the bottom board and the brood box. Let us know more details though, in case your colony is in need of swarm prevention.

1 Like