What is going on with my bees?

As my name indicates, I am new to beekeeping and am struggling. I bought a flow hive last year and installed an Italian honey bee package in April. All in all everything went well. I fed with 1:1 sugar water for about 5 weeks. The hive seemed to be doing well and filling out the frames nicely.

In early June the bees (as I understand it) began bearding. Some research indicated this may be due to high temperatures but is common and nothing to worry about. It has in fact been very warm in North Carolina, USA (many days with temps over 90 degrees F) and high humidity. I was mostly concerned the hive may be getting too much direct sunlight in the afternoon as that is when the bearding would typically begin.

By mid June most of the frames were filled out so I added a super thinking this may also help lower the temperature inside the hive (I had removed the bottom tray by this point). It took a few days for bees to enter the super but eventually they did. No honey whatsoever has been produced in the super.

It has gotten to the point the entire front face of the hive is covered with bees. They seem to stay out there all day and night (even with overnight temps now dropping into 60s F). I panicked over the weekend thinking it was just too hot in the hive given the sun exposure, removed the super and moved the hive to a nearby spot that does not receive as much direct sunlight.

I am now regretting this decision and think I should have just them bee

Any insight would be helpful.

-NCNewBee

I’m also a bit of a noob, but a couple of thoughts:

• when you inspect, are there any swarm cells? Even with a honey super, if there is no space for more brood, they may be preparing to swarm.

• Are there any local flowers blooming to provide food for the bees? I understand that when there is no flow going on, the forager bees don’t have much to do, so will disproportionately stay at home and beard.

Good luck!

Here are a few pictures of some frames.