Bees in bottom of Flow frame (in the honey flow channel)

Hi Everyone,
I’m new to bee keeping but bought a classic hive a number of months ago.

I unlocked and released the honey a few weeks ago for the first time. All cartridges were fine except one. This one cartridge had bees flowing out with the honey. I thought it was my mistake of not securely locking the cartridge. I made a point of locking it securely but when I checked the cartridges 2 days ago the same cartridge had bees in it again and all others were fine.

Does the cartridge need replacing? It makes a heck of a mess too with honey going inside the hive when I unlock it. I didn’t want any messes, that’s why I bought a flow hive.

Any suggestions? Has it happened to anyone else? It’s only a new hive.
Cheers, Carol.

Hi Carol and welcome. Can you post some pics of your new hive? While it’s true that genuine Flow hives can also leak under certain conditions (see below), I’d want to be sure of your equipment’s provenance as there are many fakes out there and they tend to be of very poor quality. I’ve never heard of bees being able to get into Flow frames such that they would become caught up in the honey flow coming out during a harvest.

When harvesting a genuine Flow frame (or any honey frame for that matter), it’s very important to first check if it is capped and thus truly ready to be harvested. Then, you want to open the frame in smaller increments - not all at once - so the volume of honey doesn’t create an airlock in the harvesting tube. To do this, you simply insert the key a quarter-way in, and watch and wait for the flow to lessen before pushing it in another quarter further in to open the next increment.