Building Plans for Bee Boxes

Any one have some they can share!
Simple is better!!

There are a few online:

http://www.beesource.com/build-it-yourself/10-frame-langstroth-barry-birkey/

http://www.dummies.com/how-to/home-garden/Hobby-Farming/Beekeeping/Building-a-Beehive.html

I found its much cheaper and less time consuming to buy flat packed langstroth boxes and screw them together myself. Most can be purchased for less than $20.

3 Likes

I totally agree with Rodderick’s last statement. I’m an accomplished woodworker with a full shop of tools. I got on a bug a while back where I decided to build my own bodies. By the time I built the jigs and purchased the raw materials, I realized there was no way I could compete. Considering that some just like to DIY, there is a simple pleasure to be had in doing your own construction. Eventually what you may find, though, is that this takes away from other responsibilities. Especially, as you find you are in need of additional equipment.

3 Likes

I’m a total beekeeping novice but I’ve been a passionate builder/ renovator for many years. Looking forward to designing and building my own hive so I will be checking out Rodderick’s links. Thanks heaps. We have a serious problem with termites here is Mullumbimby so I’m keen to use treated pine in the base. I know I will need to keep this sort of stuff well away from the bees. Im thinking of hoop pine for the main structure but I’m not at all sure what preservative would be best. Copper napthoate?

My wooden hives are made of cyprus dipped in hot paraffin. Hives tend to rot from the inside out because of the high humidity. I personally would not feel comfortable having any paint or wood preservative inside of the hive. My hive stands are steel angle iron or concrete blocks.

1 Like

Beat me to it, @pbrutz!, due to the read only state.