Cedar Hive - Cool Temparate Region - Paint or Oil?

Hi Everyone!

I’m a newbie to bee keeping and have just bought my Cedar Flow Hive in preparation of my first nuc in October.

I live in VIC Australia where we can get pretty cold wet winters (no snow) and then hot dry summers.

I was wondering if oiling my hive with Tung Oil will stand up to these conditions or if I am better to paint it? I plan to paint the roof and legs regardless.

Thanks for your help!

Hi Mel,
I’m in Victoria, west of Geelong. I gave my flow hive 3 coats of tung oil 50/50 with something - sorry I cant remember the name of it but it’s mentioned a number of times on a thread on this site and is some kind of citrus solvent. I’ll add it in later. The middle coat was pure tung oil.
I found (after 10 months) the oil has persisted well on the body of the flow hive but not the roof. If I had my time again, I would’ve painted the roof and oiled the rest of it.
Hope this helps and welcome!

1 Like

There’s one or two places that do parrafin wax dipping of hives near Melbourne but that could be difficult with the lockdown.

Thanks!

How do you go about re-oiling the hive when the bees are in it? That’s something I’m assuming will have to be done if oiling rather than painting.

To re apply a coat of tung oil you need to lock the bees into the hive at sunset and then brush on the tung oil by torch light to the front of the hive then release the bees at first light, by then it will have soaked in and dry enough for the bees to walk on it. Paint the roof with an exterior grade white paint to help reduce the risk of the hive over heating. If your in a really hot climate then consider placing the hive where it will get Summer afternoon shade. The ideal temperature in the brood cluster is 34C +/- 1C. If you get afternoon bearding into the night then look for the cause of it happening.
Cheers

1 Like

Thanks Peter,