Comb is attached to inside cover

I am very new to beekeeping. I have 8 frame hive boxes. When I got the package of bees I followed the instructions to leave a frame out to let the queen box hang. When I checked on them a few weeks later they had attached comb to the inside box and not knowing any better I left it and added another box. I just slid it in place and left another frame out. So now I have a mess. I tried to take the cover off the other day and the bees were not happy with me. I’m not sure what to do. Please help. I try love my little friends and I want to fix this the right way. Thanks

1 Like

Hi Elizabeth and welcome! Congrats on your new box of messy friends :smile: Can you post some pics to give us an idea of how bad it is?

Cross combing and bridge combing can be cleaned up using your hive tool and a bread knife, with a serving tray or large bowl handy to drop the comb chunks on/in as you work. If your frames are cross combed, you’ll have to carefully cut sections out of the frames after separating them with the knife, and rubber band them back in place. Best to use a tray for this, and place the sections gently down on it, trying not to pin bees underneath. This is best done with a helper who can hold the frame for you while you stretch about 4-5 big rubber bands on vertically, and slot all the salvageable pieces of comb back in alignment with the frame. Bridge and burr comb are much less disruptive to clean up, just scrape along the hive parts wherever comb should not be, going slowly and nudging any bees out of your way with your other hand. You might get lucky and have an early taste of honey if the bees have begun storing it in this comb! You can save the wax in the freezer - it adds up to a votive candle in no time, and you’ll need it to prime your Flow frames if you have them.

3 Likes

Welcome to the forum Elizabeth, lots to read and bee keepers here happy to pass on advice and tips.