Correx board position query

Hello from Essex UK,

I’m a newbie and after many years dreaming of my own bees I installed a nuc in my flowhive brood box this morning: very exciting and all looks good with bees buzzing in and out.

I can’t seem to find a definitive answer on whether to place the white correx bottom board in the upper or lower position. There appears to be conflicting advice on this subject on the forum.

Any suggestions please?

4 Likes

@Ziggysmummy

Hello and welcome. I am also a newbie and was wondering this same thing when I got my bees. I keep mine on the very top slot up close to the screen.
I am sure there are many reasons for the 2 positions (ie, pest control, ventilation, etc) but my decision was based on a youtube video by HoneyFlow I watched. The link is below. The information I am talking about is at the minute 1 mark.

Again, this is what I decided to do and I am sure I will learn a lot more from other replies to your topic.:smile:

https://youtu.be/Fk7n1LGdhIg

I put mine in the top slot now because the chalkbrood mummies were getting lodged in the wire screen and the bees could not remove them. There is no Small Hive Beetle or Varroa mite where I am, :relaxed: so take that into account.

Like the other 2 posters, I put mine in the top slot also, but then I generally prefer solid bottom boards, so the slider converts it to what I like. :smile:

In case you are interested, my detailed reasons for using the top slot are:

1. The bees can actually ventilate better the way they want, as you are not disrupting the laminar flow of air they generate around the hive.
  2. Screened bottom boards are not reliable for reducing varroa burden
  3. The Flow screened bottoms boards often have faulty mesh, allowing small bees to escape and use it as an entrance
  4. The mesh allows small pests such as ants and small hive beetles a huge entrance to the hive.