Countryfile Live at Blenheim Palace UK

Next weekend is Country File Live at Blenheim Palace. The BBKA will have a stand and I’m making Skeps on the stand next Saturday afternoon. Should be a really good family day out. If you come along come and say hello to the beekeepers and If I’m there come up and say hello and have a go with the skeps.

All this week I’m helping to set up and get this event ready - very busy week.

1 Like

How exciting. I love shows like that. Are you taking your flow hive and are you selling your honey?
I’m just waiting for my new labels. Different ones for the soft set and the runny. Alas no cut comb this year. The bees have drawn the comb but not evenly enough.

Dear Valli,

Just a dumb American here… What the heck is a “SKEP” … My grandmama had all kinds of English words I didn’t know … :smile:. Please clue me in ! :wink::+1:. Thankz my friend … I’m still learning all the time … Have a great weekend over there !

Cheers,
Gerald

1 Like

This is a skep

Used in old fashioned swarm collecting and keeping bees in the old days, killing them for harvest.

Have a look here,
This is one of a few on the subject
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k2IjNBbLESY

3 Likes

Dee,

Yah ! That’s why that WORD sounded familiar … Thankz. My brain must be slipping :wink::honeybee:… Appreciate the brain wake up n flix !! I was thinking FOOD ! :grin:. Ta ta … Gerald

1 Like

How’s the honey doing, Gerald?

Great vid on Skeps Dee … I’ve never been familiar with that subject. Sure looks like a specialized job … I think I’ll PASS on that n stay with my conventional Langstroth hives.

Again Thanks ! Gerald

They are actually illegal in many US states, as you can’t inspect the comb for pests and diseases. Of course the bees don’t know that, and if you just happened to have a skep lying around for decorative purposes, and it accidentally became a home for a colony, well, are they going to arrest the bees? :smile:

Not sure need to ask the question @Dee Dee