Cutout gone sideways

My question is “Is it likely that I have a queen?”
Performed an emergency cut-out (Tree fell down on a rural property during a storm -xmas day)
Placed brood comb and most of the bees into a box - comb banded onto empty frames.All seemed to be going okay on boxing day - bees started adding to comb etc. - couldn’t see queen but i’m no expert.
The day after there were more hive beetles than bees. Naturally I was pretty disappointed but then began searching for bees. Immediately found the swarm 20metres away. it seemed that they baled out of their own accord (swarmed?). Long story short , I put bees into entirely new box with new foundation frames and a couple of home made beetle traps. So now it’s dec 30th and everything looks great - about 3 frames of bees all actively adding to foundation and adding honey. I still haven’t seen a queen though don;t like to disturb them too much. I guess I’d just like to know if it’s likely for the bees to continue to operate at this level without a queen? At what point would I expect to see evidence of the queen being present or should I just order a new queen?
Unfortunately I don’t have any other hives that I can borrow frames of brood etc. and at this time of year I’m effectively on my own so any advice would be greatly appreciated.Thanks in advance

cutouts can be tough, I did one just before xmas,

check it and it was overflowing with bees, 3 deep all over the frames, 8 frames off awesome brood.

went back a week later toi find they had absconded, about 300 bees left.

hive beetles and wax moths everywhere,

you win some and you lose some.