Do bees need food in new hive?

Just received my new 7 frame flow hive. I have never done this before. Do I need food inside the hive before purchasing new bees?

1 Like

Hi Wes & welcome to the forum.
To answer your question: No, you work all that out at the point of placing bees into the hive. I’m guessing that you’ll place a colony into your hive at the start of spring.
Join a club, find a mentor, there’s a lot of reading & watching available in the Flow website. A good place to start is under the heading of Beekeeping Basics.

1 Like

Hello and welcome to the Flow forum! :blush:

My answer differs a little from @JeffH’s, for a good reason. I see that you are US-based. Many US beekeepers buy package bees from suppliers such as Mann Lake or Olivarez honey bees. While you do not need to put food into the hive before you put the bees in, you will definitely want to feed package bees as soon as you introduce them to the hive. If you don’t, you risk them absconding (deserting the hive) and flying off in a $200+ cloud of black and yellow to find their own preferred home! :astonished:

However, if you join a local club and buy a nucleus from a respected club member, you may not need to feed them at all. You will still need to watch their food stores though. I see that you are in the San Joaquin Valley, which although it is agricultural, it will have nectar dearths in the heat of summer. Again, from July onwards, you may need to feed if your new colony has not stored enough for winter.