Flow in Joliet Illinois

Finished with tung oil.

Now just waiting for my flow frames…

2 Likes

Joey,

Looks very well done. Great job of finish n oiling your Flow-Hive … Do you have your bees ordered yet ! Does it come with the brood (lower box) hive frames ? If so your on your way as soon as weather improves n bees get there. Are you in the Snowy Mess (storm) I see on TV News ? Kind of looks like it I live out near Seattle in the foothills SE of the city about 25 crow miles. I am restarting into beekeeping again after 55 years away. I’m very excited to rejoin this fabulous hobby.

Happy Beekeeping,
Gerald

Gerald,
Thanks I was worried at first using tung oil for I have never used it. I am a hobbyist woodworker and wasn’t sure on tung oil. after using it I love it, started to use it on other projects now. I did thin it down with citrus solvent.

Funny you ask about ordering bees, I put my order in this morning with a local beekeeper from our beekeeper club that I just joined. Bees are scheduled for second week in April. Those Flow Hives better show up soon!

I ordered the complete flow hive, so to answer your question, Yes it did come with the brood box and 8 wood frames for the brood box. Though if I am not mistaken, It did not come with any foundation for the frames or wire for support. So, being a new bee I’m not sure what if anything I need to do. The books i’m reading suggests that there should be some form of beeswax or plastic foundation on the frames. I don’t know…

I am not in the snow storm, I sneaked through I guess nice and sunny today, cold, but sunny.

Glad to hear your coming back, I’m a true newbie.

Joe

Hi Joe,