Frame position one week after package install

Hi! I have been reading and learning a lot here, great information.

I did my first inspection today and as far as I can tell as is well since package install on May 2nd. I could not find the queen yet.

I have a question: six of the 10 frames have a comb on them, bees seem to be building from one end towards the center, is it ok to leave the frames as is or should I intercalate some of the empty with the ones with the comb? Does it matter?

Thanks in advance!

5 Likes

Leave them as they are, or you will stress the bees by making more work and rearranging their brood nest. :blush:

2 Likes

Thanks, Dawn! I figured it would be better to leave them alone, but since I am a newbie I wanted to check :smile:

2 Likes

You are correct, but also your photos are superb and very helpful. Well done, you will be a very good beekeeper. :blush:

Oh and by the way, welcome to the Flow forum! I am a bit slow off the mark today with a migraine. Sorry, didn’t mean to be rude! :wink:

2 Likes

Hi & welcome Natasha! Advice from Dawn with a migraine is still better than most :wink: …but get well soon, Dawn. Those frames do look beautiful, you’re lucky the bees seem to understand and are working inside the frames rather than wherever they want :smile:

What’s blooming in your area now?

4 Likes

Thanks, Eva! I know, I had a talk with them about efficiency :wink:

I am near Denver, Colorado, and mainly what I see around our house are Lilacs, pear and apple trees, and of course, dandelions. Not much just yet. We also have a community garden by the end of the street, so that will be a buffet for them later in the year.

2 Likes

Nanucks,
I live north of you and the nectar flow is strong right now.
Bill

3 Likes