From swarm to honey

Hey all. I’m a NewBee and am wondering how long it generally takes to see action in the super? I’m imagining this is a “how long is a piece of string” kind of question, however as I’m new to all this I really have no idea! I got my full flow setup in late September and collected my swarm on November 2nd. So my bees have only been in there for just over one month. At first they were very keen to have a peruse around the flow frames (see below) but lately there is literally zero action up there and the frames remain empty. I haven’t yet opened my brood box to see how it’s all going (as advised) so am unsure how it’s all going. There is certainly a load of daytime activity though, and I’ve managed several photos of bees with rear legs full of pollen. I’m in southwest Victoria in Australia, so we have just come in to summer. I live in an urban environment with lots of gardens around too, so there is definitely lots of flowers around. Any thoughts on how long I should expect to wait? @Valli I read many of your posts and they seem very helpful. Do you have any thoughts?

2 Likes

@JimmiBuscombe G’day Jimmi, I see your based in Melbourne. I’m assuming you are in the 'Burbs?

Have you made contact with your local Bee club yet? If you let us know exactly where you are we can try to put you in contact with your nearest one.

The September swarm would have brought food with it. But you will still need to feed it after a few days as that would have been use up.

It would have been better to build up the brood fist before pushing them to use the Flow supers.

If you have a look at this post I go into more detail:

http://forum.honeyflow.com/t/installing-a-flow-honey-super/4113/2

Basically if you don’t build up the brood nest first the “piece of string” becomes longer.

If the girls are in the super now working they will be slower than if you built up the brood first.

If you add a second Brood box now - remove the flows and not put them back until Feb.