Getting my bees to like their new Flow frames

Hello everyone!

I am concerned that my bees aren’t taking to their Flow frames. I have read in another topic … Leveraging Sugar Syrup to help bees familiarize and fill Flow-Frames? that one could use wax and sugar syrup to encourage them, but it might be too late for me to do that. I need some advice please!

I am a complete newbie to beekeeping. My Flow Hive arrived in early March (I was a Kickstarter supporter), and I found a local beekeeper to help me with getting started. I live in Italy, and we have had what my beekeeper friend describes as a “disgraceful” season. Lots of rain …

A very small swarm was introduced to the hive in mid May, and my friend has been nurturing them. Last week he deemed the hive ready for the super and we transported the hive to my property (it seemed foolish to me to be transporting the hive, but anyway it all worked out OK … :sweat: )

I added my super last week and I have been watching them anxiously …

A week later and my bees seem completely disinterested in the Flow frames. There are a few wandering around on the clear plastic of the viewing window, but none on the actual frames.

The brood box is crowded with bees … the frames were all full with a mix of brood, honey and pollen when we inspected it last week, which is why we decided it was time for the super.

I don’t really want to disturb my bees again so soon. Should I just be patient? I am very happy to wait for them … I am doing this for the learning experience, and if I get no honey at all this year that is no problem.

Or should I take the super off and put some wax, honey or sugar syrup in there?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!