Need help bees not liking the flow frames

Ok so I am new to beekeeping. last year i didn’t put the super on and was all about getting them through the winter and in November the vacated the hive. this year i started over with a new package of bees and an Italian queen. The drew out the brood box no problem. I placed the flow super on July 1st. I sprayed the frames with sugar water as instructed by another beekeeper. the bees are going inside the holes and are still doing well in the brood box but have not closed the gaps in the super frames and have not filled any cells. It has been 21 days and no progress. Any suggestions???

Flow hive is controversial in my area so the beekeeper association near me is not an option for help.

@Forum_Support

That is part of the problem. Late in the season to put the super on. It really needs to go on in March when the nectar flow starts, if you have a full hive. If you don’t, you just have to know that you can’t expect a honey harvest in your first season. Plus in MA you are going to need double brood boxes to overwinter - do you have 2 deeps full of bees under your Flow super? Third, you may need to smear some burr comb on the frames to get the bees to accept them. Have you tried that?

Please also search the forum. This question comes up all the time, and there are hundreds of posts addressing various issues, including some really good ones from Flow, especially from @Faroe. :wink:

Like this one:

5 Likes

As usual Dawn is right. Listen to her. Always your first goal is to get your bees through winter. Always ensure they have enough for winter before even trying to put on a super. After that, if you have a flow on they will use the super, no flow = no nectar so they don’t need, or want, the super. The type of super is secondary…

Cheers
Rob.

3 Likes

Next year put it on May 1st at the latest and you’ll be good. Time to get ready for winter:

3 Likes