Hard orange segments in honey comb

Is this bee bread? The orange bits?

Maybe, but it looks pretty slimy to me. What did the frame smell like? Sickly sweet, fermented smell?? It could be crystallized honey, but without knowing where in the box it came from, and the health of the colony at the time of the photo, it is hard to say. However, with the wet comb below and the big hole in the comb, has the hive been attacked by small hive beetles? Maybe even wax moth and rodents? My best guess would be an SHB slime out, unless you did something to the comb before the photo.

I would be interested to see what @JeffH thinks

Hi. No it slimy and not sickly sweet. I cut the hole as i was harvesting the honey very crudely by cutting the capping off and letting it drain out. Thats why its all wet. This is my first time harvesting from naturally drawn comb. It was in the super of a very active strong hive. It was on the edge. The hive is sittung on a Hive doctor base with oil in the beetke trap trays and theres a few shb but not a lot and i didnt see any scurrying around any of the frames in the brood box or super. The photo was taken at 3.00pm today ( Sunday 4/12)

1 Like

In that case, bee bread/pollen is unlikely, as they normally put that next to brood. If it was in the super, it would be further away than bee bread is usually placed. So crystallized honey would be the most likely in that circumstance. :blush:

I dont have a queen excluder in the hive but there was no evidence of any BIAS in that frame. There was one frame with a small amount. Its a new 10 frame hive that i formed in early September by splitting 2 other hives. I put the super on the split 3 weeks ago.

I have a Flow hive as well and it is so much EASIER to harvest the honey.

I melted down the wax from that segment of the comb because it seemed quite dark and fibrousy and it isn’t wax.