Harvesting the honey - quick question

Hi everyone
I am about to do my first honey harvest ever - my 1 flow hive is my only hive and this is my first year (I’m trying my hardest at it all).
The logistics of honey harvest… does anyone have a link to a flow instructional video? Because I have a few questions…

• The flow harvest won’t harm the bees when they’re inside the flow super? Just like that, I just leave them in there while I harvest the honey?
  • Once I’ve got all the honey out, do I just open up the super and shake the bees into the brood box as much as possible, and take the flow super away?
  • What do I do with the flow frames and super to clean it? So it can be stored away nice and sanitary for the winter.
    Any and all tips and suggestions are appreciated!!!
1 Like

Not really directly instructional, but here is a video of our first Flow harvest, with a few tips:

You do, and usually the harvest doesn’t bother them at all. However, there are some important things to remember. Most important is to open the frames in 20 to 25% increments, and wait for 5 minutes or so before opening the next section. The reason is to avoid an airlock in the Flow tube, which can cause flooding into the hive. The other thing is to inspect the frames for capping before harvesting. This is partly to make sure the honey is ripe, but also to see if there is a large arc of uncapped cells. If so, you may get more leaks, but you can still harvest cautiously.

Sort of. What I normally do is leave the super in place for a couple of days. There will be some honey and cappings left on the frames. The bees usually tidy this up within a few days, which saves me from doing it! :blush: