Heather honey in flow frames

Hi… looking for anyone who has had experience with heather honey in the flow frames?
Typically here keepers don’t like it because it’s hard to get out of the frames, very sticky and crystallises quickly. This honey tastes amazing in my opinion and I’d love to harvest it. I understand the theory that it is warm in the hive and will therefore tap off easily however I’m looking for anyone who has first hand experience of this? I want to be prepared so I know when to take of the flow frames for winter. (In Sweden!)
Thanks

I have no experience and no idea- but- here in Australia we have Canola (rapeseed?) and that also candies quickly and in the frames. However I don’t recall hearing a single report here on the Flow Forum of a singe person yet having any issue with honey that has crystalized in the Flow Frames anywhere in the world? I would have thought if it was big issue it would have cropped up by now somewhere. Maybe Im wrong and missed a thread on here. There have been a lot of people wondering about it- it was one of the things I first worried about when I heard of flow frames.

I had some honey that was partially candied in one flow hive- and it flowed out fine. But it was mostly still in a liquid form- I strained it as I harvested it- and there were crystals left in the sieve…

Another thing I have noted: honey from flow frames tends to candy more slowly than spun honey from the same hive.

2 Likes

Hi Thanks for your input!
We have rapseed here too however I am lead to believe that the heather honey is much harder to harvest here than the rapseed - but I guess I’ll find out soon enough I hope!
We have a Sweden flow hive FB group but none on there have heather growing near their Flow hives so they couldn’t say to be sure. I have lots of heather around here so all going well with my bees maybe I’ll get some in the flow frames and test it out.
Cheers!

1 Like

Hello- and no worries!