Hello from Middletown, OH, USA

I am a Newbie keeper! So much to learn and I am so excited about the flowhive!.
I do have a few questions that seem to be surfacing in my community of non-flow keepers who are so generously trying to help me get started. If anyone has insight as to the below questions I would be most grateful!!!

1. Our kit comes with one deep brood box but most non-Flow hive keepers in Ohio, USA use 2 deeps or 3 mediums . Please clearly explain why only one box and do I actually need 2 boxes.

2. If only one box is used, wouldn’t I have concerns about swarming due to the reduced brood area?

3. How do I manage the hive throughout the whole year?

Thanks so much and I am looking forward to meeting more of you!

Yes you should use 2 boxes if your local beekeepers do so. Only one box is used in subtropical Australia, where the hive was developed. However, the Flow super is just a method for extracting honey. Otherwise the hive should be managed exactly as your local beekeepers take care of theirs.

Yes, and difficulty surviving the winter due to not enough space for winter food stores. Please use at least 2 boxes, and maybe even 3 (the Flow hive is only 8 frames, most beekeepers in the US use 10-Frame Langstroth hives - 25% more space per box).

Exactly the same way your locals do. Read this forum too, lots of info here. Use the magnifying glass Search function at the upper right of this window to search for specific questions.

In summary, put your first bees into one box. When the frames are all drawn comb, and 80% full of brood or food, consider adding the next box (brood first, then honey harvest after that box is 80% full). Overall, if in doubt, ask your locals. The Flow hive isn’t magic, it is just a new way to extract honey. It doesn’t change the way you should take care of your bees.

1 Like

Hi Erica,