Hello, I’m from Charlotte, NC

Hello to all. Glad to be part of this great forum. I’m new to beekeeping and still researching as I learn on my own. Today I have order the Flow Hive Cotton Suit and Flow Hive Smoker. I figure I get my tools first, the decide which Flow Hive 2 I should purchase being I’m a new. Any suggestion will be greatly appreciated. Also, any thoughts on if I should purchase a second brood box for winter months in my area? My hive will be place in my back yard where I have my garden and fruit trees.

Welcome to the Forum Dylan, you will find heaps of reading and good information here as well as some great folks happy to help you along the way.
As for a second brood box I would look for VERY local advice but only start the colony with a single brood box, then add a super when the hive is busting at the seams with bees and then add a second brood box if locals advise it.
A common mistake made is adding the super too early which actually sets the colony backwards. Bees thrive in a ‘high density housing’ environment.
Cheers

1 Like

Thanks for the advice @Peter48. I also have joined a local bee hive club and also the North Carolina State Beekeepers Association to get more info. I will continue to search the forums for info as well as asking my local club for advice. I’m interested in obtaining some non-aggressive bees. Any ideas will be greatly appreciated as well.

1 Like

Hello and welcome to the Flow forum!

Your local bee club may be one source, but I really like these bee packages from Mann Lake:

They are incredibly gentle and very productive bees from a highly respected supplier (Olivarez). Order very soon though, their stocks are quite limited! :wink:

1 Like