Help new bees-switching to foundationless

I recently picked up two hives from another beekeeper. 1was 2 brood boxes, 1 was only1 brood box. Both full of fully drawn comb on all frames. This beekeeper has different philosophies than I do and I want to go more natural with foundationless and treatment free.
The frames that are currently in the Box are a mix of plastic and wood frames. I added an empty foundationless brood box on the single box hive it has been there for three days and they have not drawn any comb on it. I do have comb guides on them but they are not waxed. Why are they not drawing comb and if theyā€™re not used to foundationless will I even be able to switch them to foundationless. Although I have read almost every document I can find about bees before I got my bees I have no experience so I need your guyses guidance I canā€™t even figure out the difference between brood comb honeycomb drone comb etc. All the books I read and videos I watched you made it seem so simple but Iā€™m a bit confused.

1 Like

Your bees will naturally draw comb on the foundationless frames. It would only be a myth that your bees are used to foundation frames. The bees will fill the foundationless frames when the conditions are favorable for the colony to expand into it.

HOWEVER, I would stick with foundation frames. It keeps everything in order. It makes inspections that much easier, plus you get better looking straight comb which makes finding the queen easier.

2 Likes