With or without frames?

I’m brand new to this and have a silly question.

I’ve got 3 Langstroth boxes on order and plan setting them up with the flowhive in the top box.
I’m thinking of not putting frames in the brood box (bottom box).
From what I’ve read bees are able to make their own area, and there is less chance of moth.

Good idea or not?
Should I just stick to the tried method and use foundation?

Thanks

I agree with Dexter. You NEED to get into the brood box. You still have ongoing hive inspection and maintenance and disease control. Think of the Flow Frames as a different form of extractor.

3 Likes

I am in full agreement here with a couple of things to consider. In some countries it is illegal to operate hive that does not allow comb to be easily removed for inspection. There are too many diseases which affect bees, you are doing a dis-service to your colony by not inspecting and taking care of them, and you may be contributing to the spread of disease to your neighbours hives and other wild colonies. They will not be more happy in a hive without frames but they will be pretty upset when break their brood comb doing an inspection, which could set them back several weeks, not good if it’s close to winter or they are a weak colony. Not everyone will agree on this, but if you are new to beekeeping our best suggestion is to stick with the standards for the time being and then you can experiment as you gain more expertise.

1 Like