High varroa count in recently installed nuc

Hi there,

I am new to bees this year. I have a question about treating varroa:

On June 23, I installed a 4-frame nuc into an 8-frame langstroth hive. The bees have made a good start on filling out the 2 frames adjacent to the 4 they came with, but have hardly touched the furthest outside two frames so they are just in a single box. There is a ton of capped brood and they are storing honey and pollen (canola in bloom).

I have a screened bottom board, and recently used the “sticky board” method to get a count on varroa levels. I realize that this is not the most accurate method, but I don’t feel like I have the bee numbers to do a wash count. Over 72 hours, there were ~53 mites on the board.

I know I need to treat, but am I okay to treat now? Most of what I’ve read says to treat in spring of late summer/early fall. I don’t expect to harvest honey this season so effect on honey isn’t a concern. Priority is to make sure they are healthy and have enough numbers to get through winter.

Avg. temps right now: Range from 20-30 degrees Celsius on any given day.
Varroa treatments I have access to: Thymovar, Mite Away Quick Strips, Apivar, Apistan
Approximate colony size: 5 frames (brood and honey/pollen stores)

Thank you in advance for any insight you might wish to provide!

Ashley

Hi Ashley, what a nicely written post. :blush: You gave all al the information we could possibly want and you have obviously thought hard about this. I think treating at this time of year is no problem if you don’t intend to harvest. It is best to treat now, rather than let them crash in October.

Given your choices, I would treat with Apivar strips. My preference would be to treat with Oxalic Acid, either vapour, or using Randy Oliver’s shop towel method (not yet fully approved, but perfectly safe).
http://scientificbeekeeping.com/oxalic-shop-towel-updates/