HIVE IN WALL NEAR MACKAY, QLD - Can anyone help me?

Hi All, I live on the Central Coast, Queensland about an 1 hour out of Mackay Qld. I am new to bee keeping and have a flo hive ready to go. My mum has a friend that has a hive in the wall of their house (1/2 hour out of Mackay) that they want gone. I have a builder that can help with wall removal and rebuild but need someone to help with bee removal and then I will transport (if possible) to my home a further 30 minutes away. Slight problem - as the bees were entering through a small hole near a pipe they modified a really old hive to have the pipe go into the hive from the house - so now the bees go in through the hive and into the house as wellā€¦ Not sure where the queen would be located. Havenā€™t inspected inside the hive yet to have a look. I will post a photo / short video if I can for you to see. Thanks in advance. Ellen

I donā€™t think that will work. What I would do is make a trap-out. A funnel made from fly wire attached to a piece of hose. Then the hose fitted to the bees entrance. Do this early one morning. At the same time place a brood frame containing mostly larvae next to the entrance (shaded) while making sure the bees canā€™t get back inside the wall. After about an hour or two, as long as the brood frame is completely covered in bees, place it inside a brood box, with 2 drops of lemongrass oil smeared inside the entrance. Place the entrance as close as possible to the wall entrance. The bees returning will slowly be drawn to the brood box as long as the bees donā€™t find another way into the wall.

As long as there is either worker eggs or very young larvae on that frame, the bees will make a new queen.

This will save a costly renovation job.