Hive Placement wPictures

Hey guys, I backed Flow originally on kickstarter. I picked the complete set and received my brood box and Flow super in December, still waiting on the Flow frames though. Anyway, this is my first attempt at keeping bees and have been reading as much as I can. I also plan on attending my local bee keepers association’s monthly meetings. However, I want to start planning hive location and could use some help. My property is small, 60x128 and I am very close to my neighbors. I want to try an avoid any complaints…lol. I have two areas in mind…

Next to my chicken coop.

1 Like

On my deck’s roof.

1 Like

Near my pool…

I’m thinking the pool is prob the worst place. Too close to people. Near the chicken coop isn’t bad. I have both on posts to keep my two yorkies out of harm’s way. I’m thinking the best is on the roof of my deck. Out of the way, but I am worried about the bees bothering my neighbor. Are they high enough or will they come down and annoy her every time she is eating dinner on her deck, which is literally 5 feet from mine. Here are a few more pictures, I would really appreciate everyone’s opinion.

What direction is the coop facing?? in the northern hemisphere it is between south east and south west - if it is by the coop facing 90° to the pool ie entrance along the fence line and backing onto the coop would be good

Coop is facing southwest. Roof is northwest.

So the first picture with the hive by the coop but with the back of the hive facing the coop would work? The flight path will be along the fence line?

is the shed north or west of the coop?

Where in the world are you, Mike? I am guessing northern US given the architecture and a bit of snow on the ground. If so, you might want to check your local city regulations to help deciding the location of the hive.