Hole in top of Flow Frame Super? (Between super and roof)

Hi ya’ll,

I put my cedar flow hive together a few days ago and I have a couple of questions. I am new to beekeeping and will be receiving my bees in late may.

The top of the super which contains my flow hive has a 4 inch diameter hole in the middle of it. I assume it is for ventilation. My question is this…

Should I install a screen over the hole? Shouldn’t I worry about the bees building comb in the space between the roof and the top of the super?

thanks,
Lorne

1 Like

That is the crown or cover board. the hole is used for feeders or porter bee escapes - cover is with mesh or blank it off until you need it.

1 Like

Lorne, great question ! Yes. The inner cover does have a hole for ventilation purposes. Usually this hole is left unscreened so wintering worker bees have access to dried sugar n other overwintering candy cakes set on the inner lid. I wouldn’t worry about screening for now. There are a few reasons but not for the beginners !!

There’s a great pool of new bees as well as knowledgable beekeepers here. Keep the questions coming. As you will learn there are certain general rules that hold true to all beekeeper n there are also differing opinions on other info due to regional problems n beekeepers experiences. It’s a learning curve for all of us. Welcome aboard !

Good luck n keep learning.
Gerald

PS. Where is your general location. Also find a bee club n glean from their pool of knowledge too.

1 Like

I live in central Texas. 30 minutes east of Austin, TX. I have taken 2 classes on beekeeping and have several books. The closer I get to the bees arriving, the more I realize I don’t know. I probably should join a bee club, I know there are active ones in my area. I think there is someone up in Georgetown (1 hour away) who has one of the early flow frame setups. I was thinking of going to visit and asking questions.