Holy batman! What are my bees doing?

ok so its really hot here in North Texas today, i think it was around 103. I walked out this evening and saw my bees in quite significant numbers on the front of the hive. I feel like they are cooling off or keeping the heat from the inside of the hive but im fairly new to this so…

That looks like pretty classic bearding - they are cooling off, as you say. Michael Bush explains it here:

I’m in Dallas and have been experiencing the same bearding the past few nights. The only thing I’m doing is making sure their water source is full (solar fountain).

i lifted the roof off a little bit ago just to make sure i had it all right and the cap with the hole in it was sitting on top of the flow just as it should. my only question is should i take the white plastic board out from the bottom of the hive where the screen is? maybe give it more air flow ?

Very good question. I know you probably won’t believe this, but bees actually ventilate the hive better when that plastic board is left in place. The reason is that they “fan” air through the hive with their wings, directing it in a kind of laminar flow. This ventilation is much more efficient if the hive has mostly intact walls, floor and roof, with a couple of smallish entrances.

If you remove the board, their fanning is basically ineffective, and they have to rely on convection and drafts - not very controllable by the bees.

We often forget that bees evolved for millions of years before humans started making hives. Their preferred homes are tree cavities of about 10 gallon (40 liter) capacity, with a bottom entrance of around 15 square cm, if you believe Thomas Seeley’s research (and you probably should). Trees don’t have screened bottom boards, and the bees still love them. The SBB is really for pest management, and retrieving spilled honey from a Flow harvest. I feel that it isn’t really a good tool for ventilation.

Hope that helps.

1 Like