How many hives survive each year in the US?

This is a rhetorical question, not something that I am trying to answer myself. However, the US Bee Informed Partnership runs an annual survey of US beekeepers, and I have just completed my 2020/2021 answers. I have been doing this for about 5 years now, and the responses are always fascinating and sobering.

For example, did you know that 46% of colonies in California died in 2019/2020? Ohio had the same 46%, Pennsylvania 51%.

If you are US based and willing to answer the survey, it leads to very useful advice and information for all beekeepers:

https://beeinformed.org/take-survey/

Meanwhile, here are the results from last year on an interactive map:
https://beeinformed.org/thankyou/

5 Likes

Thanks @Dawn_SD
I didn’t know about that.
I will check it out and share it !
Thanks,
Sam

1 Like

I’m sure I read Florida losses were crazy big as well. Colony collapse disorder was a serious problem some time back.

Approx 600,000 hives in the state. Can you imagine 300,000 disappearing every year :cry:.

2 Likes

There always seems to be packages of bees & nucs available in the early spring in the U.S. What are the suppliers doing right, to be able to supply those packages & nucs. I wonder what losses, if any they incur, coming out of winter.

3 Likes

BIP does collect those numbers, and you used to be able to see them separately. Last I remember, where the hobbyists were losing about 35-40% per year, the commercial guys were losing around 25-30%. I think a lot of the difference comes from the fact that the commercial guys take varroa seriously, while many hobbyists do not. :thinking:

3 Likes