I think I made a mistake with painting my hive - Ignorance strikes before I even put the hive together

Overly keen to get on with the job and do it thoroughly, I went ahead and starting treating the timber. Now I have a couple of regrets. I hope this information is helpful to others. Regrets already!

Your thoughts on these decisions would be very welcome.

Moderators, please delete if inappropriate and let me know so I don’t repeat it.

1 Like

Well I’m in the middle of painting my newest 8 frame Langstroth and its migratory top and individually designed base. A few weeks ago I painted it inside and out with copper naphthanate and now the various bits are getting primer and plastic paint inside and out. Disclaimer: I am an absolute novice. Virtually everything I am doing with my bees is done in ignorance. I’m very grateful for the help I get on this forum.

Hi, I’m grateful for your prior-experience - I’m new to this too.
My question is - where did you find out that the Tung oil isn’t just Tung Oil? It doesn’t say so anywhere on the bottle…

Hey pmawhinney,

Takes a brave constitution to admit regrets online - respect buddy. I salute you.

I don’t think this will be an unmitigated disaster long term, BUT the residual fume build up internally (especially on hot days) will certainly be an issue in the immediate future. I’d think that a concerted airing will be in order - with the possibility/probability of not using these boxes for quite a while (THAT part will suck)… Think many, many months.

I’d be interested to read other folks opinions…

I found a link to the MSDS (material safety and data sheet) on the Feast Watson web site. After I’d bought and used the product. :frowning:

1 Like

I think that’s good advice @Dragonfly Thanks. We put the boxes and roof together yesterday and they’re outside airing now. If a swarm turns up this season we may not wait to get them in but if not it’ll probably be next spring (September 2016 for us) before we get any in.