Installed 2 packages today, different behavior from each hive, WHY?

Today I installed two packages (4 pounds each) of bees into two separate hives. Now that the packages are installed, the two hives are behaving very differently.

This is my first time to install a package and I am a bit of a worry wort. Is something wrong with one of the hives? I realise I should just chill out and wait 3 days, but, your advise and opinion will help my anxiety subside.

See the photo below:

The hive on the left: Very few bees clustering around the entrance. When the bees exit the entrance they fly almost immediately.

The hive on the right: Much more activity since I installed them. When bees leave the entrance they always wander around and then a small percentage of them will take flight after wandering. Also, some of the bees are doing the Nasanov waft.

Opinions? Did my queen die on one of the hives? Which hive has the expected behavior for a hive that had a good install?

Thanks for helping my anxiety subside! And thanks for helping me learn to read the bee tea leaves.

Here is a video if that is helpful…

3 Likes

Hi Lorne, I reckon I would keep waiting a bit longer. Keep and eye on them to see if things are different at different times of the day. I have an “early” hive at the moment. The bees in that hive get up early and fly when the other two hives are sleeping in. Of a late afternoon they go to bed a bit earlier then the other hives which are more active later. The other thing is there can be orientation flights at slightly different times too.

1 Like

I wouldn’t worry. The packages were probably shaken from different hives. Don’t mess with them, and wait to see - you have done this before, so you know something about it all. :wink:

1 Like

Thanks for the advice y’all. Sometimes I just need someone to confirm what I already know.

@Dawn_SD, your comment about the packages being shaken from different hives was especially helpful.