Queen cells in new hive

Hello! I am a newbie and am not sure what is going on with my new hive. I installed my nuc at the end of May. Things were going well. Spotted my queen, had capped brood, larvae, and eggs. New frames were drawn out so well that I added a 2nd brood box. At my last inspection, they had drawn out comb in the new brood box and there were eggs, larvae and capped brood in both boxes. That was about 10 days ago. At the rate they were going, I was thinking I would be able to add my flow super. But during this inspection, there seems to be less bees and activity. I can see small larvae and a small amount of capped brood but no eggs and a lot less stored honey. There are also a number of closed queen cells. Some on the bottom of the frames and some are not. There is also very little progress on the 2nd brood box. What has happened? I am assuming that I am queenless but could they have swarmed? There was plenty of space for them. What should I do now?

Any insight would be appreciated!
Stacey

It certainly sounds like they have swarmed. Unless you inspect the brood boxes weekly, it is very hard to catch a sneaky swarm event. Not very practical for most people, but that is what you need to do to stay on top of the colony.

I have a couple of very detailed leaflets for you to read. One of the files is quite big, so you may need to be patient while it downloads. They will give you a lot more knowledge and management suggestions than most people have time to type on the forum. You may find them intimidating at first (I did, and I have over 30 years’ beekeeping experience), but don’t let that put you off. Just keep reading and re-reading, and eventually the main concepts will sink in.

http://www.wbka.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/04/wbka-booklet-english-PDF.pdf

http://www.wbka.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/02/Swarm-Control-Wally-Shaw.pdf

http://www.wbka.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/04/a006howtodealwithacolonythatisre-queeningitself.pdf

2 Likes