Issue with my 1st package of bees

I purchased a package of bees this past Sunday and installed the bees on Sunday. Tuesday afternoon all of my bees swarmed. I am a novice in regards to beekeeping and was trying to establish my first hive.

Here is my situation, I have a new hive setup Flow. Yesterday afternoon they swarmed away to a bush on our property. I inspected my new hive and there were no bees in it. The queen bee cage was still intact with three worker bees and the queen. On the bottom of the hive box I see this wax mass that I believe must have had a queen pod and it probably hatched sometime relatively close to making up the 3 lb package of bees. I’m attaching a photo for you to look at. This morning using my package box I was able to retrieve most all of the bees and have reinstalled the bees into the hive. I set the caged queen back in the package box and placed this just near the new hive. Only a few bees stayed with the caged queen. My thinking was that they would choose where to go and they chose to stay in the new hive box. After about 30 minutes not seeing any of the bees swarm to the caged queen I removed the caged queen and box away from the new hive.
I monitored it today to see what transpired and it appears that the bees have calmed down and I think it is all normal again.

My question is what to do with the caged queen bee? Do I try to find a home for it? Or do I need to hold on to it for a few days? As I said I am new to all of this. It would be a shame for the caged queen to perish.

Any input would be appreciated.
Thank You,

(blob:https://forum.honeyflow.com/2a2a4640-895a-438d-a596-e9234aa16880 “null”)

1 Like

Hey Grier, welcome! Wow, that’s an interesting start to your beekeeping adventure - yes I’d say that is a queen cell and your bees swarmed with her. Good job capturing them and getting them settled back in your hive :hugs: