May have lost my queen

Hello, First I’m new to bees
I received my package from a local bee yard at around 10am (wife picked up), I installed the bee into my new brood box treated with a few drops of lemongrass and put my frames in at around 7pm after I got off work. I planned on letting them eat through the candy but my cage was the type with only a cork and forgot about the marshmallow, so it removed the cork and hung her hole down on the first frame. I heard somewhere its best to just release her but as I hung the cage I saw her immediately climb on top of her cage and then quickly put the lid on with a jar of feed over the lid hole. I don’t think she got out but I can’t be sure. I did open the box late last night and there was a very large group of bees where I saw her last so I hope she is still in there. I’d like to check but I really don’t want to disturb them if she is in there. When you think it’s safe to check to see if she is still alive? I also made the mistake of leaving the cage in the hive hanging from the frame, If she is in there I hope they didn’t kill her.

Another thing is some the bees (about the size of a fist) dropped to the ground below the entrance and were still balled up at 3am this morning and another group is balled up in the package cage. Neither group has attempted to find the hive group. Is this something to be concerned about?

Do I need to look into finding another queen?

I’d brush up the bees outside and put them into the hive. And then leave them be for a week or so and then check the combs for fresh eggs, if you put in drawn out comb. If you got only foundation, then wait longer for them to build up. Of course you have to make sure they have enough food, if there’s not enough flow outside. But just in case you might want to try to find a source for another queen.