Little Progress Made

Hello all, this is my first post and am a total NewBee. I have just done a second inspection on my brood box, there seems as if very little process has been made on the 4 outer frames. There where bees on the outer frames but nothing else appeared to have happened since my first inspection 2 weeks ago. Does this seem normal ? I received the Nuc on the 5th November 19 -4 frames. I’m in Kalamunda Perth WA. Thanks for any input. Cheers Dave.

Hi Davo, I’m a stone’s throw away from you. I installed my two nucs a couple months ago. One barely changed at all, and probably went backwards. The other is making very slow progress.

Are there any food sources for the bees up your way? Mine, which depend mostly on John Forrest NP, are almost starving and have to feed them.

Hi, thanks for the reply. Thats interesting about the food source, I assumed there was as we have mature flowering trees and gardens around us, we are also on the edge of the National Park. What are you feeding yours?

Eggs and bacon… haha not really. It is a mixture of 1:1 sugar and water syrup at this time of year.

But if you have flowering gums and they are finding it you might not have to feed. Do they have any stores at all? If you can take some pictures it can help a lot.

1 Like

Don’t fall for the trap that because the bush is flowering there must be nectar in them, I found out the hard way that trees can flower in drought conditions but don’t take it as a given there is nectar.
Even in ‘normal’ conditions don’t expect big results to start with in a new hive. I have had to run a single brood box for up to 4 or 5 months sometimes waiting till the brood box and the colony need a super, but that can also happen in a month or two. The queen and brood should be on the inner frames and as the colony gets bigger they will make comb on the outer frames firstly to store honey handy to the brood but then the outer frames will be used for more brood.