Multiple Brood Boxes/ Multiple Flow Supers

I have just got 2 Flow Hive 2’s with the 7 chambers. Bees will be added in the spring. I, like a lot of new/novice bee keepers, have been watching YouTube videos - reading online - networking with others. I am hoping someone can answer what I hope is not a stupid question.

Q: I have seen traditional bee keepers with hives that have more that one brood box and sometimes 2 if not 3 supers. I assume this to build a larger hive and maxamise honey production.

Why does Flow Hives only employ 1 of each?

Or are there other combinations.

I think it’s because they don’t suffer the winters we do here in the states. Go with your local areas suggestions. Example: I live here in Tennessee and we have almost a 6 month winter so I have 2 brood boxes. The bees store ample honey to make it through and have strength in numbers to ventilate the hive while it’s under 32 degrees. While I’m no be expert that’s the advise I received and that’s been successful wintering over my hives.

3 Likes

Thanks for the info. I’m in the Kansas City area and not sure if our winter is that much different. Do you still only have the 1 Flow Supper?

Oops forgot… How often do you harvest each year?

I’m in Tennessee and have 2 brood boxes and one flow super on top. I harvested this spring a full super of honey on each of my 3 hives and will hopefully harvest again this fall. The spring yield was 9 gallons. Basically 3 gallons per super.

Hi Tim, welcome and good luck as you progress :+1:Martha’s right about winter setups vs single boxes in milder climates. About why there’s only one Flow super needed per colony, it’s because you can drain the frames and if there’s still a nectar flow on, the bees can refill them! :smile::wink::honeybee:

1 Like

Understood, thanks. With 2 broodboxs on should the supper be removed for the winter?

1 Like