My first cutout. The Saga of a 6 week Bee Veteran continues

Well the fireworks started a day early this year. On the 3rd of July to be exact. I was given permission by a homeless lady to do a cutout on a large hive of bee’s living in a couch covered with trash, under a tree. But with strong instructions and stipulations. And because I really wanted to try a cutout, and she really didn’t care whether or not the bee’s stayed or not, a cash payment was expected LOL. I figured why not, I’m not homeless, she was, and I could almost afford the $40, for my first (self taught lesson).
I was anxious and wish I’d taken pictures but didn’t, except for a poor one (attached). The couch was covered in trash and trash bags full of clothing which I wasn’t to touch and I was under no circumstance to move the couch an inch. That should have sent up so many signals to not attempt the cutout, that I should have run- ‘not walked’. But I’m the adventurous, throw caution to the wind kind of guy and the back of the couch was exposed and I was given permission to cut the fabric out and work from the outside in. Oh foolish man that I am. Well, after she left, I assembled my equipment and tools, donned my bee suit and lit the smoker, and lit the smoker, and lit the smoker… Next time I’m bringing a propane bottle torch to light that damned smoker, and set to smoking the entrance. It helped a lot, but after that I couldn’t get the smoker to work again (common newbee mistakes).