My Queen is loose

Help. I am a newbie and don’t have a lot of time to research- I work full time nights and have a 2.5 yr old and 9 month old.
I’ve been waiting a couple years to do this bc I was always pregnant.

I installed my first package of Bees this past Sunday.
I just went outside and I saw what looked like my Queen outside the hive!
I think she is my Queen- please help see pics

I got her back inside the hive where my baggie of sugar water is but it kind of looked like some of the other bees were trying to hang up on her and attack her.

Shannon

That’s a yellow jacket (wasp) scout looking to rob the hive. Make sure the entrance is reduced enough so the bees in the hive can easily defend it.

1 Like

Oh okay thank you.
I know I must seem very dumb.
That crossed my mind, but I was not sure.j

Also, if you just installed the package on Sunday, you only want one box for the hive. Once most of the frames are completely drawn out (80%), add the second box. Honey will come next year provided the bees survive winter 2017/2018.

Shannon,

The gang had you clues in on the Yellow Jacket. There’s a lot to learn so enjoy n talk your time !

Here’s a couple pix’s of just the queen n a practice on a frame. Take your time.

. Good luck n keep the questions coming. Lots of people here willing to help if they can.

Cheers,
Gerald

3 Likes

Wasps have yellow legs and bees have dark legs.

I just had to poison a wasp nest that was in stump in the ground…:slight_smile:

By the look of her she is a queen and no threat to your bees. They will see her off

Looks like this one.

I cannot be the only one thinking that if you don’t have the time even to ‘research’ the difference between a Queen bee , drones & workers, or a species of wasp, do you really have time to responsibly keep bees?
I am not being personal. What happens to regular inspections & recognising problems/pests & diseases?

4 Likes