Nadiring - What I need to do?

Hi All, Coming into my first spring in Canberra. I have been trying to find the steps involved in Nadiring a hive, but am confused by the different techniques. Do I add a 2nd box of full empty frames underneath my current brood box? Do I take frames from the 1st brood box and swap some of these for empties? Do I checkboard the frames in both boxes? Or should I just super the current brood box and not worry about Nadiring it at all? Sorry for the silly questions, I am still very new to bee keeping :wink:

I would start by asking why you want to nadir the box? I do it if the hive isn’t quite ready for more space, and I won’t be available to look after the hive for several weeks. However, nadiring can be very heavy work, so I would want to be sure that it is worth it before taking it on. :wink:

That is what I would do, yes. I don’t normally checkerboard, because that is very stressful for the bees, but if the existing box is very overcrowded, putting a couple of old frames into the new box can reduce swarming tendencies. I do that less than one in ten times of adding boxes though - usually it isn’t needed if you are actively managing the hive.

That is my preference. It is much less disruptive for the bees and easier on my back. I only nadir if I think I am adding the box a little early, and I won’t be able to inspect again for more than 2 or 3 weeks. :blush:

Your questions are not silly. These are difficult judgment calls, and it is always better to get some advice from others who have done it. I am sure that your bees will appreciate your care. :heart_eyes: