Brood box decisions

Hello,

New beekeeper here. So I installed my Nuc on June 6th. I’m in Calgary, AB, Canada. I have added 3 drawn comb frames, 5 frames from the Nuc and the outside frames are foundation frames. They took amazingly to the original foundation frame and recently to the drawn comb frames. I also added a top feeder and pollen patty which they have been devouring both for a couple weeks now.

Just wondering when I should add the super, or a second brood box to get the colony strong because we have such cold winters. Any suggestions? Quite a few local beekeepers have said they go with 2 brood boxes which isn’t a problem, just not sure of the timing as to when I should do so.

So far so good tho as the girls seem happy and are super super gentle calm bees.

2 Likes

I have no experience with your climate… But… Based on what I’ve read on this forum for (extreme) cold weather, I’d suggest you build up colony strength to two brood boxes and expect no honey harvest this year. You’d add the second brood box with similar logic to when you add Supers - when it is about 80pc full.

I’d also suggest you give thought to wrapping/insulating your hive to help it through winter. And also learn how to do a sugar roll test as you’ll need to prepare your colony for your winter.

1 Like

Yes thank you. All great advice. We’re sure we will be going with 2 brood boxes of everything goes according to plan. For the second brood box, are there any suggestions as to what I should be putting in to the second box. (ie, checker boarding, foundation frames, drawn comb… etc?) as I’ve heard people say they have pulled frames from the lower box To encourage the bees and put a couple of brood frames up top and replaced the bottom ones. I have also heard just to put new or drawn frames instead of rearranging their current home.

As for winter, we will be attempting a sugar roll test and treating most likely with Oxalic Acid vapours as well as insulating the hive.