New Hives, No pollen intake

I am a newbie at all of this. Some of the forum topics on this website has SAVED me a few times. This is my first post, since I couldn’t find anything new on the topic.

I have three active hives. #1 hive was a nuc that is flourishing! They are bringing in pollen and seems healthy, in fact they filled up 85% of my ten frame hive within a short period of time.

#2 Hive I saved from an old shed. The colony was new and the comb was paper white and just beginning. I took all the new comb and placed it in my frames with the queen and the bees and they are still coming and going two weeks later. But NO POLLEN is being brought in

#3 Hive was a swarm I caught three days ago. I located the queen and all the bees followed suit in the box and it was moved to my pasture. I do not want to disturb them for another week, but they too are not bringing in pollen while observing them.

So long story short, hives #2 and #3 still have bees, but I’m nervous they aren’t planning on staying. Any words of advice for this amateur? *Also, for the swarm I did put a frame feeder in there. I did not have a brood frame to rob.

A good way to keep a swarm from absconding is to give it a full frame of mostly open brood, which you could take from hive #1.

If hive #1 is bringing back pollen, that shows that pollen is available to be collected. The reason why hive 2 & 3 are not bringing back pollen is because they don’t need it during the initial building stage. Once the colonies have brood to feed, & importantly somewhere to store it, they’ll start bringing it in.

I’m pretty sure that if you give those colonies a frame of mostly open brood, they’ll start bringing back pollen.

3 Likes

Welcome Morgan! So you’ve got a nuc started, done a cutout, and caught a swarm - not bad for a newbeek :smile: