Newly purchased nuc has queen cups

Hi everyone. I am new to bee keeping & have a Flow hive full of bees which is a joy to watch.

I purchased another nuc from local, well respected beekeepers as I wanted a second colony so I could share resources when or if necessary.

I dropped off my nuc box on Saturday morning & bees were transferred that evening. I collected them Mon morning after being told my nuc box was very small (it fits 5 frames in easily when empty) & they had to trim the frames back to be able to fit them in - they later told me they keep 7 frames in an 8 frame box, or 9 in a 10 to give them more room (no wonder they didn’t fit!)

I transferred the frames into a 10 frame box on Tues morning noticing a queen cup on the bottom of a very heavy brood frame. Unfortunately, I forgot to put my glasses on, but I was sure I could see a larva inside the open cup.

I reopened the hive today to double check, & there are at least 6 cups along the bottom of the frames - some open & some capped. Looking at the time frame for this, I believe some of these cups would have been there prior to the transfer on Sat into my nuc box.

I contacted the people I purchased the bees from today & they felt it was because of the size of my nuc box & their suggestion is to remove the cups. This goes against info I sourced from my Australian Beekeeping book, as all this will do is prolong the inevitable swarming.

What does your collective knowledge suggest I do?

Will the fact that they are now in a bigger box stop them swarming if I remove the cups?

Should I split - I would then have 2 very small colonies - I could give them extra bees from the Flow Hive if I went down this path.

Thanks for any advice,
Karen

1 Like

Welcome to the forum Karen, you will find lots of friendly and helpful members here only too happy to give you tips and a helping hand and a good move to have a second hive for the reason you have already covered.