Novice or beginner bee keeping

Hi all.

Started my first hive 6 months ago and anxious about my first harvest. Have purchased 2 flow hives and can’t wait to shift my bees to the new hive

How will I do this?

Can I split my hive/bees across 2 hives. Will the bees simply create a second queen

Any tips welcome

Cheers in advance

Paul

2 Likes

Welcome! I too am a novice and purchased the Flow Hive. I’m inspired and eager to learn! I would love some tips on how to get started, I want to learn as much as I can before getting started. I look forward to this new adventure and want to make sure I am as educated as possible.

3 Likes

Hi Paul,
i would think much depends on what sort of hives you have now. I assume you’ve purchased two full flow hives? They will be Langstroth sized, so if those are what you have now the frames will interchange easily.
As for shifting them across i would think it depends on time of year and how your bees are doing.
As a novice myself I’m sure others can add more about splitting hives, but from my reading so far there are different ways of doing this. Splitting your hive would require introducing a new queen to the the one without. Sure, you could leave it to raise there own, BUT it will take 16 days for her to hatch and then the needs to mate, the start laying for you. Then those eggs need to hatch as workers -21 days. So you will lose 6 weeks at best, and if the honey is on the flow won’t have much to harvest I’d suggest. Then there’s laying workers to think about.
Do you have a local beekeeper who can help you do this when required, and check you’re colony is ready and able, the time of the year is right etc?
Just a few thoughts!

3 Likes

I’d like to read the answers to these questions too!

Can’t wait to start beekeeping. I bought the FlowHive because I thought it would be a great teaching/learning tool for my three kids (11,9,6) to experience the wonder of bees and honey production.

I’m excited to get started.

4 Likes

Hi Paul,