Overwintering strategy - How to leave honey behind but remove flow frames?

I’m new to beekeeping. I understand that the colony needs food overwinter to survive. I have two flow hives with the 7 Frame flow supers. So the bees fill the flow frames and I harvest some of this during the flow. Towards the end of the season I need to build up enough honey reserves for the bees to overwinter. However this honey is in the flow frames. I live in the southern UK and it’s cold enough that I think I should go down to one brood box per hive for overwintering and remove the flow frames.

So I have come up with 2 potential strategies and would appreciate your opinions.

A: I remove the flow frames towards the end of the season and replace them with normal frames in the super. The bees store honey which I don’t harvest but at the end of the season I remove the super and place the frames with honey in the middle of the brood box with bees.

B: I get a 3rd hive which is a standard Langstroth with a deep super that has frames the bees fill with honey, I never harvest this hive (I’m trying to avoid the usual extraction method). At the and of the season I remove the supers from all the hives and share out the honey from hive 3 amongst the brood boxes of all 3 hives.

I store my flow frames over winter.

Graeme

I use 3 deep brood boxes that are solely for the bees. Honey supers are placed on top of these. In June/July I will remove the supers and extract them and let the bees work on filling their 3 deeps. If they are full as well, I may extract several frames out of the bees top deep, return those frames to them, and let them spend the rest of the season refilling in preparation for winter. The majority of the extracted medium frames get used for making early July splits and then next year I add more new frames to my honey supers giving me fresh wax for the new season.

2 Likes

Hi Red,