Preparing for winter in Victoria Australia

I’ve looked through the forum but can’t find an answer to a specific question. I am new to bee keeping and got my flow hive last September and soon after a nuc. Since then the bees seem to have settled in really well and through regular inspections I am becoming more confident. I waited until the brood box was filling up before adding the flow super. Since then the bees have become very busy in the super lining the small gaps in the cells (presumably with wax or propolis). There are now very large areas across the flow frames that look ready to be filled but so far, nothing is going in. The bees are thick inside the super and during an inspection at the weekend the brood box seemed normal too. My question is whether I should consider removing the super over winter and if so, how should it be stored (assuming that it doesn’t get any honey in it). Also. should the corflute sheet be inserted at the bottom of the super? My concern is really all that empty space up top getting cold over winter - we are on the Mornington Peninsula in Australia. Any help or advice gratefully received! Thanks…

1 Like

There will be others more qualified than I to advise but heres my take.
Unless there is a mass source of nectar and pollen about to come on,(I don’t really know the trees in your area) I would take the Flow Super off now or fairly soon before Winter sets in. I think it unlikely they will start filling the Flow frames now.
I went through exactly what you are going through. I took the Flow super off in first week in April. I then waited till December to let the hive build up numbers as my hive did not do Winter well, before I put the Flow sup[er back on. You do not want an empty Flow super on over Winter.
It also took a little time for honey to come but when it did it only took about 3 weeks from start to harvest.